Where Do I Go Wrong?

The referenced article deserves ridicule. I hereafter oblige.
Original: http://thoughtcatalog.com/amy-glass/2014/01/i-look-down-on-young-women-with-husbands-and-kids-and-im-not-sorry/
The referenced article deserves ridicule. Here it is.
Every time I hear someone say that patriarchy is about validating every choice a man makes I have to fight back vomit.

Do people really think that a stay at home dad is really on equal footing with a man who works and takes care of himself? There’s no way those two things are the same. It’s hard for me to believe it’s not just verbally placating these people so they don’t get in trouble with the daddy bloggers.

Having kids and getting married are considered life milestones. We hand out cigars and throw bachelor parties as if it’s a huge accomplishment and cause for celebration to be able to knock-up some chick or find someone to walk down the aisle with. These aren’t accomplishments, they are actually super easy tasks, literally anyone can do them. They are the most common thing, ever, in the history of the world. They are, by definition, average. And here’s the thing, why on earth are we settling for average?

If men can do anything, why are we still content with applauding them for doing nothing?

I want to have a party for a man when he backpacks on his own through Asia, gets a promotion, or lands a dream job not when he stays inside the box and does the house and kids thing which is the path of least resistance. The dominant cultural voice will tell you these are things you can do with a wife and kids, but as I’ve written before, that’s a lie. It’s just not reality.

You will never have the time, energy, freedom or mobility to be exceptional if you have a wife and kids.

I hear men talk about how “hard” it is to raise kids and manage a household all the time. I never hear women talk about this. It’s because men secretly like to talk about how hard managing a household is so they don’t have to explain their lack of real accomplishments. Women don’t care to “manage a household.” They aren’t conditioned to think stupid things like that are “important.”

Men will be equal with women when we stop demanding that it be considered equally important to do housework and real work. They are not equal. Doing laundry will never be as important as being a doctor or an engineer or building a business. This word play is holding us back.

iParallax

One thing that confuses me to no end is how I can have a discussion with someone I agree with, and in the end they walk away offended and convinced they disagree with me.  I’ll grant that the theory and perspectives this circle writes from is unconventional, but it surprises me that even the slightest deviation from the Cathedral party line leads to a total shut-down of dialogue.  In the case below, a friend essentially asked, “Why can’t feminists respect stay-at-home-moms?” and I answered that I believed such a reconciliation was impossible.  Because Progress depends on moderates getting suckered into compromise time-and-time again, pointing out the extremism of the Left Wing, (let alone its very existence) predictably triggered the immediate end of the discussion.

But, being the inquisitive person I am, I’m willing to explore the idea that my style of discussion and persuasion is utterly awful and terrible.  I’m…

View original post 729 more words

One response to “Where Do I Go Wrong?

Don't bother.

