Saved at the Last Moment

It appears I won’t starve after all.

My return from the farm was greeted by an unauthorized debit to my business account, leaving me with an other than ideal bank balance. I already spoke to the vendor and I expect it’ll get resolved shortly, but the impact certainly complicated the weekend.

I started today with a long conversation with my favorite client about a construction contractor error. All will turn out well in the end, but when one person makes an error, all the other errors by every party to the project get magnified. Most everything concerning my work is in order, but we still went through the motions of an extensive discussion of every minute error and omission that might possibly, maybe, remotely impact the project. Fun, that.

Afterward, a “new”client called and notified me of several relatively small projects they were sending my way. This is great news because it solves my bank balance problem and confirms my decision to fire the other client. So, money is coming into my bank account soon, and there’s more beyond that for at least a little while.

For anybody who cares, Mom’s getting “procedures” today. I’ll post on that again if it strikes me as pertinent to anything. I’ll probably visit again festival weekend.

After returning to my routine at home and reconnecting with friends and associates here, I’m convinced she’s not “all there” any longer. Eventually that’ll require action, and I’ve begun discussions with family to that effect. A friend she visited told me she sounds really lonely, and such comments tug at emotions, but my mom’s had a life full of friends. As I pull away to preserve my own sanity and well-being, I’ve begun to wonder if others are doing likewise and she’s finding herself alone as a result. My father, as he ages, is less likely to respond to the attention-getting tactics. I believe she interprets this as disinterest; I know he’s merely trying to keep emotionally disengaged from some of her incredibly hurtful and mean insinuations about his motives. I’ve begun to wonder if he would be safer divorced – and that’s tough to even contemplate.

Back to work.

One response to “Saved at the Last Moment

Don't bother.

